Goat Cheese and Pepper Jelly, oh my….

Many of you that read this are my loyal followers, and you already know that I have been doing chef’s demos at The Historic Longview Farmer’s Market, and I have been having so much fun cooking with all the fresh veggies!  Well, this week I wanted to showcase some products that are being sold already packaged and ready to eat.  I have found some unconventional ideas that I want to share. The first product we are going to work with is from Pace Farms. This is using the demo for the lemon grass pepper jelly glaze from my demo on June 1, 2013. These are the ingredients you will need (plus some kind of oil): glaze ingredients

  • 1 clove of garlic, coarsely chopped
  • 2 Tbsp. of oil, I use olive oil, but feel free to use what you prefer
  • 1/4 cup rosemary lemon grass pepper jelly
  • 1/4 cup brown mustard
  • 2 Tbsp. brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. prepared horseradish

Putting it all together….

  1. Start heating the 2 Tbsp. of oil in a sauce pan over medium heat.  Once it is hot, add the garlic. Cook the garlic until it is well done.
  2. While the garlic is cooking, whisk together the remaining ingredients until combined.
  3. Pour the mixture into the hot garlic oil.  It is going to sizzle when you do this.
  4. Turn the heat down to low and stir until heated.
  5. Pour in to another bowl and let cool to room temperature and then use it with your pork.

This is going to yield almost one cup. I used a 2 pound roast for this and it was plenty of glaze. While your glaze is cooling, you can start preparing your pork roast.

And now for the best pork roast you will ever put in your mouth……

mire pouixYou are going to start with a mirepoix of sorts.  A mirepoix is normally a mixture of carrots, onions, and celery. It is used to add flavor and aroma to stocks, soups, and really any dish that you roast in the oven. For this, we have changed things a bit, we are using new potatoes, noonday onions, and bell pepper. IMG_0062You want to cut everything up and put it in a roasting pan. I added a cup of chicken stock over this to add even more flavor.

MEAT!

side by sideYou start with the roast on the left. Then you take a sharp knife and slice down the middle. This would be called a butterfly cut on the right.

stuffingPlace a single layer of fresh basil leaves, roughly 10-12 leaves. Then I used Haute Goat Creamery’s Thai Spice Goat Cheese crumbled over the basil.

meat with glazeFold your roast over, place on the mirepoix, and pour 1/2 cup of your glaze over the meat.  Cover your pan with aluminum foil, place on a sheet pan and then place in a preheated 350* oven for 30 minutes.

after thirtyAfter the first 30 minutes, take the pan out of the oven and remove the aluminum foil.  You are going to pour the rest of the glaze over the meat, leave the foil off, and return to the oven for another 30 – 45 minutes, or until the internal temperature reaches 165*.

doneAt this point the meat is done, if your vegetables aren’t quite as done as you would like, you can place the meat on a cutting board and return the pan to the oven to cook for a while longer.

You really want your meat to rest for at least 10 minutes, but definitely do not slice it before you are ready to eat.  I find this time perfect for finishing up whatever side dish you are planning on serving.

platedAnd this is what Gina eats…

I served the pork on a bed of the roasted vegetable with a side of mango pasta salad.  The savory and sweet is a great combination with pork.  I would love to know if any of you try this with a different flavor jelly. Please comment and let me know

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Goat Cheese and Pepper Jelly, oh my….

  1. Allison Benton says:

    Any particular recipe for the mango pasta salad?

    • The dressing that I use for the pasta salad is always the same: 2 cups of cubed mango, 1/3 cup rice vinegar, 1/3 cup fresh squeezed OJ, and a handful of cilantro leaves. I put it all in a blender and puree. It is simple and delicious. I always use veggie pasta and I always use cubed mango and chopped jalapeno in the salad. Other than that, it just depends on what I have in the fridge. I will put bell peppers, onion, black olives….cubed ham is yummy…..I have added black beans and that was really great!

      • Allison Benton says:

        Thank you. It sounds delicious. Will be preparing this for my Mom’s birthday dinner this Sunday.

Leave a Reply

